One simple step toward sustainable living

It is easy to get overwhelmed when considering all of the different ways you can make changes in your life to live more sustainably. So I thought instead of creating an insurmountable list of involved steps that leave the mind spinning, let’s keep this first fresh start simple. Switch to bar soap.

That’s right. It’s that easy. And not only does it save you the clutter of bottles that crowd your bathtub and shower, it saves you money. And it reduces the constant amount of plastic waste from your household. A win-win-win situation. And don’t forget the natural fragrances, ingredients and processes that go into the making of these bar soaps.

I was not a believer at first. My husband is a character of habit as well as a manly man and I never thought I would ever be able to ween him off of his Old Spice Sport bodywash. He couldn’t even settle for a different scent of the same brand when we first met. And he loved the Orange Ginger Bath and Body Works bodywash he had bought me for Christmas. Finally after the tenth time the bottles toppled over the side of our small bathtub I had had enough. And I made the switch for us. And surprisingly, he loved it.

I found a brand at the supermarket where I do all of my shopping that is Certified Fair Trade, organic, made in the USA and available in a variety of scents. It is all natural and delightful. And I’m sure you can guess what scent I chose. That’s right, lavender. Love it. And so does my sailor.

So for $4.49/bar, I replaced my normal purchase of his $5.69 bodywash and mine at $12.99, cut down on our plastic consumption and waste and found a much more hands-on and fun way to lather up my man. Now that is what I call a fresh start.

http://www.drbronner.com/DBMS/BAR.html

20121029-205001.jpg

My favorite!

Leave a comment